WEEK 6 – COMM11007 Media Writing

Posted on Updated on

1. Practical A

I managed to converted the whole story in general and the quotes in particular from Week 4 Activity to a short story on Storify. My Storify story can be found here: https://storify.com/blue_hoang96/education-is-the-most-important-thing

Reflection:

As I mentioned before, creating a story on Storify is such an challenge at first. The hardest part was not the way to use Storify actually, but the requirements that the course coordinator wants me to do.

When everything was clear, I started creating the story. It turned out to be more simple than I thought. After coverting the quotes, I found out the way to add the Tweet into the story. On the whole, this activity is really enjoyable.

2. Practical B

The event I intend to cover is Moon Festival which will be hold in nearly 1 month. The photos and news will be tweeted by me during the festival time.

If the event is created based on a story on Storify, several issues will need to be considered. They are outlined below.

Who will be the audience? All residents in Cabramatta

What might they learn about the event? Throught Storify, they might get more insight about that traditional festival.

What needs to be included that will make the story interesting or have more impact? Numbers, funfacts, videos and behind the scene and so many other elements will be added to have people’s attention

How will I structure the story? I will cover the event by  text to introduce it, then picture mostly for the activities, with descriptive caption as detailed as possible, which makes my story more interesting and  more attractive.

3. Technical

This week’s quiz is focused on spelling, which makes me feel basic at first. When I have from 2 to 4 choices, I realized it was too complicated and easy to make mistakes. Anyways, by the second attempt, I had recorded a new high score.

5 thoughts on “WEEK 6 – COMM11007 Media Writing

    thomasbuttriss said:
    August 25, 2016 at 1:57 pm

    Hey Tung, I’ve liked you blog so far, it’s all looking pretty comprehensive. I’ll let you know of a few minor spelling and grammar mistakes I picked up on though.

    “The event I intent to cover”

    – I believe you probably meant to say:

    “The event I inten(d) to cover”.

    “several issues will be needed considering.”

    – With this phrase you’re changing your tense, and it would probably benefit to alter the sentence a little to something like:

    “several issues will need to be considered.”

    “the highest score has been record by me.”

    – This is another example of a sentence that might work a little better if you swap it around a little to:

    “I had recorded a new high score.”

    Also, It might just be me, but I think the link for your Storify story might not be working correctly as I don’t think there’s any URL embedded.

    Content wise, I think you’ve done really well however. Keep up the good work!

    Like

      tungduonghoang responded:
      August 25, 2016 at 2:47 pm

      Thank you, that really means a lot to me. I’ll fix them up and insert the Storify link again

      Like

    James said:
    August 25, 2016 at 11:11 pm

    Hey Tung. Really nice blog, especially the way you incorporate pictures instead of actual text into your posts. Too much text just seems a bit weird in my opinion, so for you to mix pictures and text here and there is really good!

    Like

    jfurnishblog said:
    August 26, 2016 at 9:00 am

    Great post Tung ! Good luck on your assessment !

    Cheers,

    Janet

    Like

    thejessehall said:
    October 9, 2016 at 2:56 pm

    Really nice work man, would be great to have more references though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

