Week 1 – COMM11007 Media Writing

Posted on Updated on

1. Practical

This blog has been created since last April for my previous course. I chose my real name as the user name to make it easier in the act of interacting. I feel really happy when the blog is used for academic purpose once again, by this active way, I can gain a lot of knowledge in writing on the whole.

Here is my introduction that you can also find it in the About section on my blog:

Hello everyone,

My name is Tung Duong Hoang, I am from Vietnam and currently studying Bachelor of Information Technology in Central Queensland University, Sydney campus. To improve my writing skills and the general knowlege about media, which are the aspects that I am interested in a lots,  I decided to select this course. By finishing the term, I can develop my real blog and write about the information technology field to share the insights throughout the community as well as enhance the my own efficiency, hopefully.

2. Inquiry

 The most noticable similarity of both articles is the narrative about new ambassador for Queensland racing, Billy Slater. Therefore, the purpose and the target of those two articles are the same. Right at the first sight, it is easy to indicate that one has attached pictures and the other one does not contain any photograph. The main difference in my opinion is that one article is an official media release written by Queensland government, and the other one is just a normal article appearing on daily newspaper written by Gold Coast Bullentin.

The coverage updates on social media network is limited. I found it so hard to follow up the incident. Because I am not a big fan of sport, this thing does not impact too much on me personally.

3. Technical

The quiz of week 1 was pretty easy to me. I enjoyed it so much thanks to some interesting questions about observation. Several attempts had been made so I could get it all right.

References:

The State of Queensland 2016, Racing Queensland unveils league legend Slater as official ambassador, viewed 20 August 2016,  http://statements.qld.gov.au/Statement/2016/6/2 4/racing-queensland-unveils-league-legendslater-as-official-ambassador.

Davidson, B 2016, ‘Maroons legend Billy Slater to be announced as ambassador for Qld thoroughbred racing’, Gold Coast Bulletin, viewed 20 August 2016, http://www.goldcoastbulletin.com.au/sport/racing/maroons-legend-billy-slater-to-be-announced-as-ambassador-for-qld-thoroughbred-racing/news-story/564befcf1bdd9e78480e832255cdf171.

2 thoughts on “Week 1 – COMM11007 Media Writing

    kellymarshman said:
    August 26, 2016 at 1:30 am

    Hi Tung, I think you have a really good writing style. Your introduction paragraph is well written and gives good detail in a concise manner. The only thing I would say is that in your inquiry, the target audience wouldn’t be the same for both articles. A media release and a newspaper story are written in different styles with different audiences in mind.
    Hope this helps! 🙂

    Like

    thejessehall said:
    October 9, 2016 at 2:58 pm

    Really love your style of writing. Awesome referencing in this post. Keep up the great work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

